Senator Ibrahim Blames PDP Decampees for attack at Funtua Rally 

Senator Abu Ibrahim

Senator Ibrahim Blames PDP Decampees for attack at Funtua Rally 


Senator Abu Ibrahim has blamed the attack by some thugs  on himself and other party members at   APC zonal rally at Funtua ,Katsina State on Saturday ,on  the PDP decampees that newly joined the All Progressives Congress in the State .

News Agency of Nigeria ,NAN reported that the Senator representing Katsina South, and Amiru Tukur, the member representing Bakori/Danja Federal constituency in the House of Representatives narrowly escaped mob action at a political event organised by the Katsina State chapter of All Progressives Congress (APC) on Saturday in Funtua.

But Speaking at his Kaduna residence on Sunday with a group of journalists , Senator Ibrahim who said , he is unhurt , hale and hearty ,accused PDP members for masterminding the attack .

 He insisted that PDP members known for  using  thugs to rig and win elections ,who now  have infiltrated APC  are responsible.

” These  are people from PDP ,who use thugs ,they have never won election ,only through use of force  now have joined us and they brought this kind of problem to APC” Senator Stated.

The  senator ,who is also the  Chairman, Senate Committee on Police Affairs said the rally, where  5,000 members of PDP who just decamped to APC were received , was well attended by APC leaders and stalwarts in the state including; Governor Aminu Masari of Katsina state, the three serving senators and members of House of Representatives from the state among others.

According to him , the chieftains had all gone to receive the Governor in Danja before proceeding to commission few projects and laid  the foundation stone of the Funtua motor park.

He explained further ,  “After that, we proceeded to the venue of the rally. As usual with any political rally it was a political jamboree where people are campaigning for their aspirants and against their opponents. There are people who will hail you and those that would condemn you with various posters and placards to that effect, but it’s all politics.

“I was called to speak, and as I was making my speech I realized that something was wrong. I saw somebody who I thought should not be at such an occasion, an irresponsible fellow, who left PDP to join our party, but has continued with the acts of thuggery that he was known for in PDP. After my speech, the Governor was speaking when somebody came to tell me that something is not right with the gathering, that there may be plans to disrupt the rally, foment trouble and cause chaos.

“Before we called for closing prayers, some thugs have started throwing stones, it was suggested that I should join the Governor in his car but I said no, so me and Senator Umaru Kurfi we left and went home. I started reading in the social media that I was attacked and beaten but as you can see, I’m hale and hearty. I was not stoned, nobody personally attacked me, my vehicle was not damaged.”


The Senator said the issue has since been handed over to security agents to investigate, fish out the culprits and allow them face the full wrath of the law. “There are people who when in the PDP were involved in thuggery to cause chaos. I’m close to 70 years, I have won election four times under the opposition, I have never used thuggery, I have never rigged election. We contested election together they lost, so they realized that as long as I’m in politics they would never win, maybe I’m the target.”

He however, allayed fears of people of Funtua, noting that the fracas was not caused by the youths of Funtua, but by thugs rented from outside the state. “It’s a normal political fracas, so I would not retaliate. Many elders have been sending me message asking if I’m ok, and appealing to me but I said it is not from Funtua but from outside Funtua. We will make sure that the culprits are fished out, those that would be taken to court would be taken and those that would be sent away from APC would be sent away,” Senator Abu Ibrahim added.

