I met stiff opposition from corrupt influences against change of status-quo in FCT –El-Rufai

 




Kaduna State Governor,Mallam Nasir El-Rufai,at the weekend revealed
that as a former minister of Federal Capital Territory,FCT, he met
with stiff opposition from corrupt influences  against the change  of
status-quo and modus operandi of the public service institutions in
Abuja.

El-Rufai who stated this at the book launch of  his late foster
father, Malam Yahaya Hamza’s biography held in Kaduna, said though he
was determined to reposition the public service in Abuja.

The governor  in his speech entitled ‘Tribute to a father,protector
and teacher’ said with a sound education and the good moral upbringing
he got from his  extended family: “I was able to cross any obstacle
thrown at me”

According to him: “From Baba, we learnt to work hard and serve with
integrity and purpose. He taught us the true meaning of love , till
this day I consider all of his biological children my own dear
siblings.

With these virtues instilled in me throughout my childhood, I grew to
become a focused young man. I carried on what I had learnt, to my
years of serving the nation as the Minister of the Federal Capital
Territory”


“When I became the Minister,I was determined to change the status-quo
and modus operandi of our public service institutions. Of course, my
vision for revolutionizing the way public service was run, was met
with stiff opposition from corrupt influences”

Late Yahaya Hamza, a renowned educationalist and former permanent
secretary in the Federal Ministry of Education died August 2015 barely
two months  after the inauguration of his son, Mallam Nasir El-Rufai
as governor of Kaduna State.

El-Rufai said: “I was eight years old when I lost my biological
father. Losing my father at such a tender age could have steered the
course of my life in the wrong direction, but this was not so in my
case. I come from a close-knit extended family so, I wasn’t allowed to
feel the void of losing a protector and provider as I was immediately
placed in the loving home of my uncle Alhaji Hamza Gidado; Mallam
Yahaya Hamza’s own father.


After living with Mallam Yahaya’s father for a few years, I eventually
moved in with Mallam Yahaya as I developed a strong bond with his son”

“According to biology, we are cousins because our fathers were
brothers. However, those of you that witnessed the close relationship
between me and the Late Yahaya Hamza, will testify that it was more of
a father and son relationship.

The governor noted: “As a young boy trying to find my way in a complex
society, Mallam Yahaya Hamza with love and discipline was able to
guide me on the right path.  He took what I consider one of the best
decisions in my life; sending my young head strong self to Barewa
College.I say to you today, that I will not be who I am without the
solid foundation I received at Barewa College. Till this very hour, I
remain eternally grateful to my father Mallam Yahaya Hamza.Baba, made
sure we lacked nothing and at the same time reminded us to be
thankful of how blessed we were. He  was my protector, friend,
counselor and most importantly my teacher” he said.


El-Rufai  added: “With these virtues instilled in me throughout my
childhood, I grew to become a focused young man. I carried on what I
had  learnt, to my years of serving the nation as the Minister of the
Federal Capital Territory.

During my ordeal with the Senate in 2003, Mallam Yahaya Hamza, my dear
father was one of the few people who defended me privately and in
public. He granted an interview to Punch Newspapers saying “…I am
ready to swear by the Holy Qur’an that Nasir, my son, did not lie. I
can tell you that Nasir does not lie and so he can not wake up to cook
such a lie about two senators without it being true. This goes to show
the kind of father he was, always ready to protect us , even if we
were already grown and could do that on our own” .

